We've been busy in the past year finding resources that will help YOU become a successful college student. We've listed most of them below:
Backfiles and Archival Content
Archival journals in the arts and sciences were added through the purchase of JSTOR X and
JSTOR XI.
The Ovid Nursing Journal Archive which includes 3,174 journals was acquired in support of nursing programs.
IEEE Proceedings were restored to the IEEE Xplore subscription. The proceedings were cancelled in 2007 due to limited funds and the subscription reduced to solely the journal package.
Books/E-Books
Over 18,000 books covering subjects pertinent to all academic areas were acquired, including 8,451 e-books.
Nursing e-books were acquired and made accessible through the Books@Ovid e-book database. The database provides full text, references, updates, and graphics from 307 of the most respected sources in nursing.
Journal Articles
Two full text article databases were added, Cab Abstracts and PsycARTICLES.
Cab Abstracts is a full text bibliographic database covering research and literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Cab Abstracts was on the wish list for more than five years.
PsycARTICLES provides access to the full text of more than 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
Multimedia and Images
 |
Masks Greets Guest in
the Village
Christopher
Roy: African Art and Field Photography
from the ARTstor Collection
|
ARTstor and Naxos, multimedia databases that had each been on the wish list five years or more were purchased. These databases support art and architecture and music respectively.
Springer Images which provides access to over 400,000 biomedical images was also purchased to support the health science disciplines.
ARTstor provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Naxos Music Library offers streaming access to more than 78,760 CDs with more than 1,132,100 classical music tracks, standard and rare
repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
Springer Images provides access to over five million scientific, technical, and medical images.
Reference
In continued efforts to migrate reference materials from print to electronic, three reference databases were added, Access Medicine which had been on the wish list for a while, AP Stylebook, requested by the School of Journalism and Graphic Communication, and the Oxford English Dictionary which was funded by FLVC.
AP Stylebook is a writing style guide for journalists.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. OED is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Several music scores in support of the Music Department were also purchased.
